Poets logo

Escaping Fear

A poem about overcoming fear and finding the strength to heal

By Violet HoltPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Listening to the howls of the wind

Feeling frozen

No matter how blistering it gets

I have faith I’ll make it through

Nightmares turn into pleasant dreams

Restorative energy fills me

Distorting memories of my past

Allowing me time to catch my breath

Allowing me a moment to heal

I give thanks to the heavens

I’ve escape into a dream

Where I never see the shame again,

Shame of being weak,

Helpless,

Powerless against the fear

It’s over, all over

Distance grows between myself and my fears

In time, those fears will be far from me

Farther than I could ever see the ocean reach

No shore lies before them

As they drowned

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Violet Holt

I am from California, born and raised. Writing has been one of my hobbies for several years. Poetry is what I spent most of my time on during my younger days. I love expressive arts whether dance, music, art, or writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.