Poets logo

Autumn Moments

Reflecting on changing seasons

By Violet HoltPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Autumn Moments

Late Afternoon,

Hot pumpkin spice coffee is still a pleasant remedy for my day.

Open window,

I gaze out over the yard.

Listening to the breeze,

Imitating the sound of the ocean waves.

Dry, yellow grass waits to decompose in the field

Soon the field will turn to mud

Before springing new, green grass next year.

Huge trees are bushy now,

But as the season goes on, they’ll become bare again.

Leaves have been turning yellow lately

Tiny leaves sprinkle down

Winds are stronger

Heat is gone.

Time to pull out the warmer clothes

Jeans and sweatshirts,

Long sleeve thermal shirts

I had tucked away in my draw all summer

Autumn moments like this remind me of the changes.

Visual expressions of a changing world,

A changing field,

A changing life,

A changing mind,

And a changing soul…

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Violet Holt

I am from California, born and raised. Writing has been one of my hobbies for several years. Poetry is what I spent most of my time on during my younger days. I love expressive arts whether dance, music, art, or writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.