Poets logo

ER

by Daniel Power

By Daniel PowerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
ER
Photo by Ibrahim Boran on Unsplash

A sanctuary

To bridge our sentiments

About life and death

The sanctity

Of such intangible vestments

Placed in outstretched

Rubber-gloved hands

Life and death

Joined at their seams

By a table

An altar of hope

With worshippers

Scalpel in hand

Conducting my judicial summons

Guilty or innocent?

Life or death?

Do I see tomorrow morning?

Or my loved ones

Their diligent mourning?

As the feather

My soul

Is weighed

On those infernal scales

While my angel's face pales

As he berates, deliberates

Critical decisions

Then descend those sacred

Incisions

This bright wonder

That warms and frightens

Brings into being

That proverbial tunnel

That mechanical cacophony

Like rain upon my face

The worry mask

This light bulb

A prelude to the murmurs

To the choir of seraphim

All at once

I'm given a sacred task

My temperance

My decadence

My life

The pilgrimage

Must be praised each moment

Living each sixty seconds

Like a mantra

Torn

In haste

Out of a holy book

In the ER

I've given a look

As my pieces are scattered

At a more complete me

I've been set free

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Daniel Power

I'd like to share a collection of my poetry that I've written and accumulated throughout the years that may date all the way back to my days in grade school. I hope you enjoy your time spent perusing and pondering my mental meanderings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.