Poets logo

EpoH

Grow with me

By Suraj UpadhiahPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

Hello there! My name is epoH;

I am a seed, sleek, small and sealed;

I think I may be in a dream,

For I suddenly had nowhere to lean.

Did the wind come to play, or was it my day to sway?

Before I could say...

Swiftly I was blown away,

Up into the clouds, where I wished I could stay.

But down I fell, hard upon a rock,

That left me with a sobering knock;

"What is going to happen?" I thought;

All this time, the clock never stopped,

As the beat kept in its steady, tick-tock.

But then one day, Tipy was walking by when she stopped to say, "Hi";

She noticed the hopelessness in my dye;

She held me and helped me;

Just for me to be safely in the ground;

A nice bed of soil she found;

I started to grow.

It was a dry and hot day, Tingdren was walking by when he stopped to say, "Hi";

He noticed my frail and lame stalk;

He made it his mission to walk his talk;

Just for me to grow big and undivided;

Lots of nutritious fertilizer and water he provided;

I grew and grew.

It was a humid day, The Tharicy family was strolling along when they stopped to say "Hi";

They noticed the lumpy bug thieves,

Having a big lunch out of my tiny leaves;

Just so that I could grow strong and with vive,

Each pesky bug they would gently remove;

I grew, and grew and grew.

My roots spread deep down and to the side,

My stalk could now withstand the tide,

My leaves were shining bright and wide,

All thanks to Tipy, Tingdren and the Tharicy family.

We were on the brink of the summer soul...

Tipy came by to share her real name;

Pity was her name, and now,

Pity had to help a different, sadder seed.

Tingdren dropped by to tell me his real name;

Trending was his name, and now,

Trending had to help the famous troubled turtles.

The Tharicy family stopped by to explain their name.

Charity was their name, and now,

The Charity family had to help other poorer plants.

How do I grow?

Pink, Purple, Red, and Blue,

The colours burst in every hue.

Perhaps, my time was due...

But Sunny, Airy and Rainy were just a few,

Who kept me going as I grew;

We all stuck to what we knew,

And together, just kept holding true.

My leaves started to fall,

But each leaf would feed the soil;

The soil lifted my branch,

Where chirping birds would sit and munch.

With every branch that came,

Many of my fruits shot to fame;

As each child would delight,

In every bite, pink and bright!

"I am epoH!" I used to claim;

But looking into the mirror, it was not the same;

I am now ready to proclaim,

"Hope is my real name!"

With every petal that I would paint,

With a passion that would not faint,

I could flower with no constraint.

It was no longer what I had or needed that defined;

It is now who I am that shines,

For with giving, my spirit chimes

Beauty, that brings smiles.

Who would have known,

At the end,

Hope grows!

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Suraj Upadhiah

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.