Poets logo

Enslaved

My First

By Maddie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Enslaved
Photo by Philippe Goulet on Unsplash

I'm a slave to you. Weighed down by chains I never thought to remove. History beat me into submission. I never could learn my lesson. Signing myself away just to get your attention, But you were blind to my love and affection. Paying all these royalties and tariffs, Just to prove my loyalty and effort.

But it was never enough.

I'm a slave to you. Sacrificing my morality Just became a normality. Struggling to be what you need As you tore me down piece by piece. Leaving them behind as we run in circles, trying to get to where we were. But we are here now and who I am is a blur.

And I was never enough.

I am a slave to you. Either the chains got heavier or I got weaker. Ignoring everything, but the sound of my speaker. My personality less opaque. As I'm struggling not to break, Under the pressure you've put on me. To be "who I used to be."

But I was never enough.

So I became a slave to you. Put my neck in your noose. Walked behind you like a dog on a leash. Just trying to keep the peace. As I fell deeper and deeper, Into a hole that I couldn't see out.

Because I would never be enough.

I don't want to be a slave to you. Put you on a pedestal as the only one Who could love me. But I realized that you were the root Of so much of my suffering. How could this be love? If everyday I'm shuddering at your touch.

I believe you. I am not enough.

Now you are gone and I'm still a slave To the lessons you taught me. I'm still in this cage. Surrounded by doubt so many have placed on me. Just searching for somethign to finally rescue me, But they won't. Because how can you rescue something you can't even get close to?

I know that I am not enough.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Maddie

They're never just words, are they...

At least not in my world. Just a 22 yr old, with one to many diagnosies, trying to figure it out.

Welcome to the product of my perception. Part of me hopes some can relate; the other is sorry if you do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.