Poets logo

Enough is Enough

Tired

By Susan WilkinsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Enough is Enough
Photo by howling red on Unsplash

Enough is enough

Being Black is rough

You think of us as tough and stuff

We feel too and just as much as you (if not more)

Cease and desist or be defeated by the roar

Move back or find yourself on the floor

Enough is enough

This is all fucked up

I’m so tired

Y’all are fired

Enough is Enough

Damn trying to fit in

It’s time to be where I should’a been

Being judged by you is done

I’m no longer on the run

I’m done tryna be “good”

I’m done paying with blood

I’m done trying to please you

Enough is enough and I’m thru

Letting you run me over is no longer my choice

You will step back and hear my voice

I’m done trying

I’m done crying

I’m done dying

I’m tired of your lying

It’s time for flying

Enough is enough

No more scraping and bowing

No more apologizing for being

No more making myself small so you can feel tall

We’re people of light (it hurts your eyes)

So you shade yourself with lies

As you pursue the prize of stability

In futility

Then you see my ability and claim it as your own

What you don’t know is our gifts are only on loan

Yours is a culture of death

Not happy until someone is taking their last breath

All you know is to divide and conquer

Your mission is fear and hate

Only satisfied when it’s this you replicate

Never comfortable unless you control and not collaborate

A legacy of destruction and malfunction

When I succeed and my achievements are higher than you can reach or aspire to

You get mad and change the game

Then when I ace that

You cry foul and look for something else you think I can’t do

Enough is enough

You preach and teach a God of love

When all you know is to push and shove

Perverting the intention of the bible

To make sure you are not held liable

Well I’m done being nice

And I’m done being “fair”

All I want is to end my despair

I’m taking up arms

Which may be mental or physical

I just know that the next time you choose to cause me pain

It will be dished back

The bible says you reap what you sow… just know

You always get back more than you gave

Don’t play around and find yourself in the grave

Enough is enough is enough is enough!!!!

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Susan Wilkins

I write stories and poetry. Lately I have put up a science fiction story and a children's story. I love to write and Vocal has given me a platform to do that. P.S. I love reader comments! Let me know what you think. Please enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.