Poets logo

Engraved

It hurts to let go

By Samuel CouragePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Oh was I a fool. Took her love for granted

I miss her voice. Her touch… her heart upon my chest.

The memories of what once was forever plagues my soul

My heart decays, dancing alone in the dark. Gloomy half-full

Remember the promises sang to the monochrome skies.

“When the sun sets, a brighter shall rise”

I’ve grown blinded to the moon light’s glimmer

her presence in the breeze, brings a spine cold shiver

No diamonds. Nor Glory could replace that beautiful smile

The world is what I’d promised to give. Perhaps that wasn’t enough.

Perhaps a heart of ravaging intent is more likely to prosper

Perhaps my own ambition was the burden that lost her

I wish her only the best. Even as we drift directions opposing

My heart aches.. knowing our story crumbles eroding

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Samuel Courage

Hello! I am a young, and ambitious upcoming writer!

I enjoy Writing songs, poems, and stories.

I’m 16

Open for collaborations

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.