Poets logo

Endlessness

A Gift

By Cindy CalderPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1

I saw you from afar,

Across the vastness

Of a room

That felt much more

Like an ocean.

As I watched you move

With an elegance born

Of endless time,

My heart skipped a beat

And then began

A rapid descent

Into the flames of

Love’s eternal fire.

Your eyes met mine,

And I knew that

I was no longer alone,

And in the moment,

I felt a keen awareness

And depth of feeling

Hitherto unknown.

Can this be true?

My heart cried.

Had the world suddenly

Spun in precision

And gotten this thing

Called ‘love’ right?

In profuse delight,

I saw you turn

And make your way to me.

I shivered

With anticipated awareness

While knowing all the while

That fate most dear

Had kindly intervened

To bring a thought

To life, and thus,

Bring you to me.

It felt like years

But in truth, was only seconds

Before you stood

Before me

In charming and splendid

Array.

Incandescent, utter delight

Filled me

Until I could drink no more.

A smile formed

Within my eyes

And upon my lips,

Derived from the depths

Of my inflamed, beating heart.

And then, your hand,

Outstretched

In seeming supplication,

Touched mine, ever so lightly

But with overpowering

Complexity.

A dance?

There was no need to ask.

I reached for your hand and knew,

As amongst the crowd we moved,

That this was so much more

Than only a dance

In a mere moment of time.

Herein was life and love,

A gift most divine,

Extreme and everlasting,

Leading us to

Eternal existence and joy sublime.

*

One glance

On that night long ago

Across a crowded room,

Divulged secrets

Of love and desires

Housed deep within my being.

For fate had decreed you would

Always and steadfastly

Be mine,

And thus you have remained,

One with me,

Part of my soul

And my breath.

And so our love will be,

Like the multitude of stars

In the heavens,

Forevermore,

For all the ages,

And through the

Endlessness of time.



love poems
1

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.