Poets logo

Endless Cycles

Routines and Ramblings

By Emily FernanPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Endless Cycles
Photo by Pratik Gupta on Unsplash

The steady thrum from a computer as it pulls me into its world.

My job, so mundane, so trifling, so stifling as I repeat the actions, and go through the motions.

The phone. It rings. It rings and rings, I answer, I listen, I talk. The same endless questions, the same endless responses.

It vibrates. The car vibrates and rumbles as it carries me southward to my home. The same drive, the same route and the same feeling of exhaustion day in and day out.

The roads are long, the people anxious - desperate to reach their destination before their minds are forced to realise just how bleak their existence is. The rage from the people who have an endless need to be somewhere. To be somewhere but not be present.

I am in the same cycle, the same motions as all others. But how to break free? How to break the cycle we are in of, eat, sleep, work. How to show my son that there is more to this world if that is what he wants.

So much luxury, so much time, so much choice when you are young. But we are all young are we not? There is no limit on when we can change. No time that we must be who we are by.

I make the choice. I sit, I watch and I choose to be different. I choose to say no - today will be different. I make my mark, I take a journey and I take photos. I write and I write until the thoughts flow freely. Until my soul can escape and become part of the world again.

With this small action, this small story, this tiny part of me forever etched into paper - I can feel my soul release and take flight. Another day I have managed to break the cycle - break the routine.

Tomorrow - to start it again.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.