Poets logo

Enchanted and Bewitched

Drowning in your eyes

By Insinq DatumPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Enchanted and Bewitched
Photo by Harry Quan on Unsplash

Her gorgeous eyes froze me in place

I vacated both time and space

I was ensnared within her gaze

Enchanted and bewitched for days

x

When I came to I saw her smile

It had me thinking for a while

How I might bring it back to life

How I might make this girl my wife

x

A lot at stake: she knew it too

The electricity burnt true

The chemistry created glue

And suddenly, it was a coup

x

I stormed her heart and stole the throne

So off the cliff, we both were thrown

Now play your part, don't turn to stone

How far we've come, how much we've grown

x

Back at the start, you said to me

That you and I were connected

To heaven's grace was my sole plea

That sacred space I protected

x

So you and I could build a home

Yet you would come to burn the tome

I fell so far for you that I

Lost sight of self and lived a lie

x

I thought that you and I could fly

You didn't want to share my fate

And yet, so coy, so cute, so sly

You left me in a righteous state

x

Cause I was still trapped in your eyes

Caught in your woven web of lies

You're hiding yet behind your guise

Pretending to be my first prize

x

You'd think a guy might yet get wise

I could not bear to cut all ties

Caught in your stare from long ago

The girl might think the guy should know

x

Love at first sight is not enough

We earn the right to love through pain

Despite your skills, she'll call your bluff

She will call down the cleansing rain

x

To wash away the sins of old

From up above drips down the gold

Push comes to shove, now watch us dance

With you, I never had a chance

x

From the first glance you held my soul

My love flared bright like burning coal

I thought that you could make me whole

We both stared long and hard, we stole

x

A moment from the world, it seemed

Perhaps it was something we dreamed

Perhaps the unconscious has schemed

That through this love we'll be redeemed

x

So you and I should sit and talk

We must discuss this wayward game

How to describe this path we walk

For everything deserves a name

x

I know I fell in love with you

The first moment I saw your flame

But I don't seem to have a clue

In your eyes I don't have a claim

x

I'll keep in mind your point of view

But just the same, I must be true

To what I feel, my soul is steel

I will not fold come what is due

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.