Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

enable

an addict's poem

By BellePublished 20 days ago 1 min read
https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/5418462040351796/

drag me along

reach into my throat

plunging poison

reap my deeds and watch them boil

eat myself alive

just trying to get rid of it

a parasite you've planted

an itch that attacks, it's rancid

keep me thirsty

wanting more

a concubine, desperate and poor

build me up, a temple

just to watch it fall and crumble

laugh at my lethargy

but keep sucking my energy

a needle like a straw

bubble and boil

a fruit that coils

and spins

black and goopy

a trap, it's loopy

but the feeling is too nice

you'll soon put me on ice

but I'm too in love with the cold

to see that I should rather grow old

than succumb to the feed

the painful itching need

to burn

A spontaneous thought.

A reminder that I post unofficial microfiction challenges - you can view them in my pillar post here.

Some of my other recent similar works:

♡♡♡ Belle ♡♡♡

Stream of Consciousnesssocial commentarysad poetryMental HealthheartbreakFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst Draft

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH. 35k+ murdered in Palestine. 80k+ injured. 25k orphaned. ~10k missing/under rubble.

Top Stories:

2023 - SEPT

2024 - MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY | JUNE

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Kelsey Clarey16 days ago

    Love the tone of this one! You captured the feeling very well.

  • Well-wrought! The Dark Side of the Spoon. Seen too many fall in those shadows, but seen many more fight their way out and become the light! Never give up hope! Drowning in the bottle was my thing once upon a time, but I found my way to shore. Life is hard. I can't begrudge those who turn to an easily accessible pleasure when all we are shown is pain. But the way out is through! Many blessings and much love!

  • Oooo, I loved how intense this was. Really well done!

  • Paul Stewart20 days ago

    You captured the mood perfectly with this...it was all kinds of sad, euphoric, painful and just matched the internal struggle that I'm sure many many many addicts, even outside of just drug addicts, would relate to. I definitely did! Well done, Belle!

BelleWritten by Belle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.