Poets logo

EMPTY STOMACH

poem about hungry

By Safeera SatharPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
EMPTY STOMACH
Photo by Steve Knutson on Unsplash

I dropped my food into the waste, A careless act, a thoughtless haste, And though I didn't think it through, I know it's something I shouldn't do.

Millions of people cry for food, Their stomachs empty, their spirits subdued, And here I am, with plenty to eat, Wasting it without a second thought, how could this be sweet?

The food I threw away without a care, Could have fed someone, somewhere, Someone who's hungry, someone who's in need, Someone whose pain I could have helped ease.

So let us all take a moment to think, Before we discard what's on our plate and brink, Remember that food is a precious thing, And wasting it only causes suffering.

Let's not let our greed and gluttony reign, But instead, let's work to ease the pain, Of those who hunger and need our care, By sharing our blessings, showing we're aware.

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhow tochildrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Safeera Sathar

With pen in hand and heart on sleeve,

I weave my thoughts,

My words may not be grand or bold,

Hoping my words will make some gain.

So if you find me on this page,

Know that I write to engage.

To touch your heart, to stir your soul,

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.