Poets logo

Empty Gestures

They are not to be romanticized regardless how romantic they seem. Do you think the King is ever concerned for the way the Jester feels?

By Siri OlïnPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

Entertaining, pleasing (why?)

A table set for the many needing

Knights, Kings and Jesters

You should question your ventures.

I've stubbed my toe three times this week, and then I felt angry

Similar to the anger I felt when I talked into the tape recorder

and the F.B.I agent said "Is that all?"

to the anger I felt when the gallery coordinators at the art show broke my

fragile glass frame

My toe is fine, its my mind that I fret over

Injuring oneself for the entertainment of social engagment

(lets add insult to injury)

Glass is not easy to glue back together.

I've numbed my brain three times this year, and then felt numb

Like the numb I felt when I swallowed too many spirits and was told

the detailed account of my lovers infidelities and I said "Is that all?"

Like the numb I felt when I took out the recycling and counted the number

of beers I drank- to numb myself

A jester who chooses to entertain in solitude

There are no knights or kings tonight

the table is set for one

Though there are two glasses of wine

one for me, and one for I

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.