Poets logo

Empty Basket

Childless

By Laura LannPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Empty Basket
Photo by Kat Med on Unsplash

In many it will rise like yeast in bread,

It will place happy songs in their head.

Not me, not I. I clutch an empty basket

No yard eggs to collect, no need to ask it.

I am not picking berries to let ripen

To press into pie and bake in the oven.

And mourn not for me as you wish to think

I gleefully drain water from the sink.

For many the clouds brew into soft rain

But here this would only bring horrid pain.

I wish not to flood my gardens with bloom,

I hold and clutch my hollow womb

Happy and content to sip tea

Beneath a fruit barren tree.

And in the quiet I will read many a book

Without so much as a remorseful look

At another life that may have been

Far it was never my goal to spin

Wool into fiber and that into life

When I took his name and became wife.

And he too adores the gentle quiet

As enchanted as the day we met.

We seek not to build a nest and fill

It with eggs and trinkets to thrill,

Despite the demands and pressure

To carry on a name and assure

Others that the line does not end

Here where the tree forked in a bend.

But, alas these things do not matter

As we throw out the whisked batter.

Many others will throw it in to bake

But we simply do not want any cake.

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Laura Lann

I am an author from deep East Texas with a passion for horror and fantasy, often heavily mixed together. In my spare time, when I am not writing, I draw and paint landscape and fantasy pieces. I now reside in Alaska where adventures await.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Laura LannWritten by Laura Lann

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.