Poets logo

Empty

Broken Hearts and Empty Arms

By L. A. McCulloughPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Goodbye My Little One

I come home feeling so tired.

I’ve cried as much as my eyes would allow.

I enter my house and it feels so empty,

I go to the bedroom and my husband goes to the kitchen;

No words spoken between us.

I feel broken and hollowed out,

Something precious has been taken from me.

I am overwhelmed by my loneliness and grief;

This was not how this was meant to be,

Not how this home was meant to feel today.

I lay on my bed exhausted...haunted by what I had expected my future to be.

So much love lost, so much pain endured, so many plans in ruin.

Why did this happen?

How did this happen?

I did everything right,

I was good, I was strong…

Yet I wasn’t good enough, wasn’t strong enough...

I let you down.

I look down at my belly and rub it, it seems lifeless and empty now.

This home...empty,

This belly...empty,

My arms...empty,

My heart...empty.

Once again, I weep,

I weep from my pain, from my loneliness, for my loss,

Emptying my bleeding heart.

My mind races. Was it me?

Did I do something wrong, something to you?

I tried to be a good mom;

I would’ve been a good mom.

I did everything I was supposed to,

But it still wasn’t enough.

You were my baby, and I lost you,

You were my baby, and I never got to say hello.

You were with me your whole life

I hope you felt my love.

You were with me your whole life

But you never felt the hugs and kisses I wished to give you.

Now, I can only say, I loved you...I love you,

Goodbye my little one.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

L. A. McCullough

I work in the human services and have always enjoyed creative writing but never shared any of my previous work with people. I have a hobby making soy wax candles, I enjoy being physically active and love nature and hiking in the mountains.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.