Poets logo

EMOTIONS

Pain and Joy

By Kpochi AmosPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Like

There are joys and there are pains

Sadly I must confess I do not feel any

I think I wasn’t created in a time where feelings mattered but in a time where palms had stains

A time where we toiled until the sun set

Where our feet became dry like kernel shells

Where nothing else matters but the fight for self

Pain and joy were tossed aside

For an emotion we couldn’t decide

I led the team to the highest of highs

At the end of the day we left with sighs

Murmurs and whispers of the life we’d led

Abandoning it for one we came unprepared

Our faces an expression none could define

Our apparels worst than it had been

Pain and joy we couldn’t feel

Our destination we didn’t see

But we toiled on after all for the quest of an emotion we couldn’t tell

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Bew4 months ago

    Your compelling and skillfully written story kept me eagerly anticipating the next developments, skillfully blending emotions and suspense for a truly captivating experience. I'd appreciate it if you could also take a moment to read my work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.