Poets logo

Emotional Vampire

Endangered Species

By Jim MoonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2023
30
Emotional Vampire
Photo by Clément Falize on Unsplash

Thoughts are racing

Emotions are void

Here we go

One more exploit

Living on the edge

Way past extreme

You're scared as hell

Just refuse to scream

When you cry

Or when you're sad

I laugh out loud

Your life's not bad

Don't know why

You're attention seeking

You pass the caskets I've passed

You'd really be freaking

Why am I so cold

Why don't I care

I have no love left

None to share

Just sit still

Just look pretty

I'll make you cry

And I'll show no pity

I feed off weakness

I have no compassion

Just a blood-thirsty lust

For pain without passion

Don't even dare

If you're faint-hearted

I will literally destroy you

Before we get started

Evil and rotten

Right down to the core

I'll rip your heart out

You'll come back for more

I create lots of turmoil

Cause lots of friction

But you just can't leave me

I'm like an addiction

I wouldn't kill you

That would be rude

Dead you'd have no emotions

I need that for food

So I'll just drain you

I'll keep you in check

I'll make damn sure

You're an emotional wreck

surreal poetry
30

About the Creator

Jim Moon

Redeeming my past, 1 day at a time.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Lisa Deasonabout a year ago

    The depth of emotion expressed In this poem reveals a tremendous amount of bravery and courage. ♥️

  • M.N. Negusabout a year ago

    I read this and imagined it was rock/heavy metal song! This is amazing work, and if you're musically talented, I'd listen the hell out of this if it were a song!

  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    Crawl over broken glass and I'll slowly pour lemon aid over your lacerated body...

  • Tina D'Angeloabout a year ago

    You went to the school of Tina's Revenge, I see!

  • LaTorrie Glover-Brownabout a year ago

    Congratulations Jim! Keep going!! I can identify, death & grieving can lead to depression & feel like oppression. I’m glad you are using your writings as a outlet. Let it out my friend!

  • Danielle Kelleyabout a year ago

    This could be an awesome death metal song

  • Misha Kellyabout a year ago

    Loved this one. Congrats on top story!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    “You pass the caskets I’ve passed” — spine tingling! Such a great flowing and emotive read. I enjoyed all the rhyming sounds with an unpredictable scheme. I’m now subscribed btw. And I love your little Bio! I also appreciate your afterward in the comments.

  • Samara Simsonabout a year ago

    Excellent one. Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful poem. Congrats on the top story

  • Jim Moon (Author)about a year ago

    Disclaimer: This poem is in no way about my character or personality. It's addiction, mental illness, the bully, the oppression. It is our giants speaking down to us.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.