Poets logo

Emotional Bombs

A Tale of Two Fractured Souls

By A.N.TiptonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Emotional Bombs
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

You fed my insecure, damaged soul

with the dysfunction of your love.

Craving turned into addiction,

for that twisted validation

of my tattered self-worth.

Two magnets,

pushing,

pulling,

pushing,

pulling,

each time more explosive than the last.

Reveling in my feminine power,

I took your weakness as my gratification,

pulling it in with greedy, needy arms.

Sitting next to you,

our legs tightly pressed together,

and yet...

I was alone in my pain and uncertainty.

Putting all my unspoken baggage

on your damaged shoulders.

That night, when you screamed,

“Is this what you wanted?!”

my perfectly constructed glass house shattered

in jagged, brutal self-realization.

And I sat there, alone,

surrounded by tussled sheets

in the absence of your perfect storm.

Metaphorically bloody and bare,

naked and stripped raw,

amidst the destruction of our emotional bombs.

Years later,

I slowly slide into the well of forgiveness.

For me,

for you,

for us,

and the war we waged, together,

for our fractured souls.

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

A.N.Tipton

I am a Writer, a Lover of Books, a Mother & an Usui Reiki Master who loves to read & write & all things Universal. Words move me, inform me, inspire me.

https://linktr.ee/A.N.Tipton

© 2023 A. N. Tipton

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.