Poets logo

Embracing Pain

Walking Away

By Shay MoffettPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Embracing Pain
Photo by trail on Unsplash

My heart was just

not a sample,

so it's time

to make you

my example.

Crossed, lost

and trampled,

I will make you

my example.

Hurt never felt

so good,

hurt was never

misunderstood.

Embracing pain

as I walk away,

drowning in sorrow,

and feeling ashamed.

My heart was never

a sample,

I will make you

my example.

Where the triumph

is held high,

I will soon

regain my pride.

Walking away never

felt so good,

I am glad this hurt

was understood.

I will let my pain

be captive,

not by you,

but by my absence.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Shay Moffett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.