Poets logo

Elliana

Love at First Sight

By Krystl DensmorePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Elliana
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

We think we know love

Growing up on fairy tales and sonnets

We think it is the thing

That will make us whole

To see the one

From across the room

The one who will save us

Sweep us off our feet

Carry us away

To happily ever after

I thought I knew love

Until I saw you

Until I saw you

My love was a dewdrop

Not a tsunami wave

You reshaped my heart

Made it stretch beyond its bounds

You cleaved me apart

With just one look

It took crawling through hazy clouds

Of inexplicable pain

Hours of torture

Holding on to your name

Waiting to hold you

Picturing your smile

You did not come willingly

But fate intervened

You fought the inevitable

The magnetic pull

It seemed like a dream

When you finally came

By body was battered

But my soul was alight

Looking into your eyes

For the very first time

I knew it was forever

That unbreakable tie

Of mother and daughter

Falling in love for the first time

love poems
1

About the Creator

Krystl Densmore

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.