Poets logo

Elf on A Shelf: Human Resources Meeting

A guide on making our time together easier, so no elves end up in the local waste management facility.

By Vonne VantablackPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
9
Photo of me, Ellie the Elf. By Canva.

Holly Jolly, greetings to you all!

It's your always friendly and...sometimes annoying Scout Elf Ellie here! It's less than two weeks until I'm back at the North Pole, so it is officially cruch time. I'm sure you're all sick of me and my Elf counterparts by now, so I was talking to the Human Resources Department about how to...well, make you human adults like us more.

We are a bit of a hassle and do get into a bit of trouble at times.

And for some reason, parents are always threatening to put us into their garbage cans when the children aren't awake. Good thing we get the heck out of the house at night, am I right?

Never mind that, though! I'm here to help! H.R. says that some preliminary projections proved that notes and poems to the children were helpful. So, in the nature of giving, I'm here with some ideas to make our time together more enjoyable.

Here's a small collection of poems to make your life a tiny bit easier during the Holidays.

***

Ugh, the little one went to sleep too late? Feeling extra sleepy? Here's s a little poem to use. Since I can't talk (awful human relations, I know), you'll have to do the heavy lifting in the communications department.

You went to sleep too late,

But you know it's a long flight I must take!

Go to bed earlier tomorrow,

That way, I will have time to borrow.

Then I can fly to the Pole,

And hide in a new spot before you know.

***

Maybe your little one had a not so 'holly jolly' attitude? Well, I will have to report that to the Man In Red too. There's a bit of wiggle room, but you get the idea.

As a scout, we watch and observe

And over the time we've shared, I've learned.

Yesterday you weren't as sweet

Like the candy we elves love to eat.

Sour reports on behavior make me sad,

So let's try tomorrow to make Santa glad!

***

Here are two fairly generic poems I happen to like, depending on where I make my appearance. Especially if I'm in a very compromising situation, or I've just... kind of just collapsed onto the dining room table.

Peek-A-Boo!

I can't believe you found me,

After a night of flying and hiding

In a new spot for you!

***

I've fallen, and I can't get up!

I didn't mean to end up here,

I can't believe my luck.

I had to make sure the coast was clear. 

*** 

So the little one had a great day! Holly-Jolly, Jingle bells, that's amazing! I have to tell Santa the news, and here's a tiny tidbit to let them know how much St. Nick appreciates them.

Ho-Ho-Ho!

I saw you today and smiled inside.

And couldn't wait for my midnight ride.

I told Santa all about your day

The smiles and joy, and all your good ways.

He smiled and laughed, nodding his head

Taking his list, pointing to your name in red.

The good list, that is where I saw your name!

I was so happy; who would ever complain?!

I flew home to you, where you find me now

So excited for Christmas, I wish I could shout! 

***

These are step one in a multi-phase plan from Headquarters, so keep your eyes peeled for more ideas on dealing with unruly elves, elves that may exhibit naughty behavior, and the ever-present 'non-moving Elf'.

I hope we can slowly patch up adult and Elf relations with a bit more communication with one another! Holidays are stressful enough without us getting into toilet paper rolls and playing poker with the Barbies, after all.

But what can I say? When St. Nick is away, we Scout Elves love to play!

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

childrens poetry
9

About the Creator

Vonne Vantablack

An unreliable narrator with a knack for telling tall tales.

IG @vonnevantablack

“In sterquiliniis invenitur”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.