Poets logo

Electric

Thunderbolts and stardust

By ...Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Electric
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

The wind hits my face

My fingers twisting through the air, full of grace

I arch my neck and close my eyes

Dangling, reaching, stretching for you

Footsteps imprinted on my skin

Spiralling up my body

With each step I gasp, breath taken away

The shock sends waves up my spine

My eyes suddenly open

Electric shocks bolt through my finger tips.

One last breath before I fall

But what if I can take this step once more

Yet I hesitate, I hold back

But why, when I've been here before?

Why do we wait to take that final step

When we are already here, we're ready

Afraid no more.

Everything has led to this moment

Just inches from your fingertips

My muscles contract, spasm, convulse

Are we here, is this it?

So many parts, in perfect sync

Bending, folding, transforming

Winds of old bellow through me

Spiralling, twisting and turning

So many moments led to this.

I see red and yellow and stars

For you are the fire burning within

We are all but stardust just travelling

Trying to find our way,

Riding thunderbolts in sync

Moonbows into mist.



I am swallowed whole by the oceans glow

Bolts transcending time and space.

How can it be

That we are diffused yet so free

Reaching and touching everything

Suspended in space, weightless

Feeling powerless

But at peace.

For we have to let go to be

We have to reach to see.

Let our footsteps carry us into the depths

How can we know what our journey meant

If we are not electric.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

...

...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.