Poets logo

Eid: Contrasts of Celebration and Suffering

Exploring the Divergent Realities of Eid Elsewhere and Eid in Palestine Through Poetry

By Creative ChroniclesPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
Like
Eid: Contrasts of Celebration and Suffering
Photo by Cole Keister on Unsplash

Eid elsewhere vs. Eid( ?) in Palestine

I gave you a bath and put on new clothes,

Took in the scent of mehndi on your fingers and toes,

Decorated your hair with tiny, colourful clips and a big flower,

Set a little handbag on your shoulders, a need of the hour

And blew over you to protect from the evil eye,

Hugged you, kissed you, "Happy eid, apple of my eye! "

I turned around and froze,

A scene from somewhere arose,

Both legs plastered upto the thighs,

Pellet riddled face and vacant eyes,

The smell of dried blood welcomed me,

She held close to her heart another baby,

A sibling who had jast breathed her last,

Life had turned upside down in the few months past.

" Mama, baba if only I could get a glimpse of you, alas!

It would have been the best eidi for which I could ask!

But no worries, I know Allah is with me,

One day not far away, he will surely set us free!"

I trembled, tears rolling down my face,

I lost my composure, sanity and grace.

So while you and I tweet and celebrate,

Do send up a little prayer for the less fortunate!

sad poetryFree Verse
Like

About the Creator

Creative Chronicles

Welcome to Crafting Tales, where every word is a brushstroke on the canvas of imagination and stories come alive. Join me on an endless journey through the realms of creativity. Let your imagination soar with every tale told.

📚#Storytelling

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.