Poets logo

Effort is not weakness

A poem

By Diani AlvarengaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
9
Effort is not weakness
Photo by C. G. on Unsplash

You wound me so much

with your constant judgements and

your hypocrisy

Your hypocrisy

is like a sweetheart online,

but truly heartless

But truly heartless

in real life, can’t stand it,

I can’t just pretend

I can’t just pretend,

I can’t pretend we are fine,

it’s just not enough.

It’s just not enough

to tolerate and accept

something that breaks us

Something that breaks us,

why can’t you just comprehend

your pride can kill you

Your pride can kill you,

it can make your heart so small,

don’t be ashamed please.

Don’t be ashamed please,

don’t let pride take over you,

falling is okay.

Falling is okay,

it’s okay to cry like rain,

tell me you are wrong.

Tell me you are wrong,

admitting things creates peace,

you are attractive

You are attractive,

when you illustrate effort,

effort, no begging.

Effort, no begging,,

to show effort is to show

that you value me.

inspirationalsad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
9

About the Creator

Diani Alvarenga

“I write to give myself strength. I write to be the characters that I am not. I write to explore all the things I'm afraid of.”

Note: feel free to leave tips if you liked my stories! Would be greatly appreciated!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    I appreciated the repetition in this so much...felt like a conversation with myself. A lot of emotion in this as well. Great work :)

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    So heartfelt. The repetition literally captures how we think during times of sadness.

  • Say it ❤️💯

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    I love the play on form. Similar to a cinquain but all yours. Well done!

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Well done. Excellent showcase of strength and emotion.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    So emotional, Diani. ❤️ Very well done! Thank you so much for sharing. ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Not me tearing up at “falling is ok. Falling is ok. It’s ok to cry like rain” 😭❤️. This was BEAUTIFUL.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.