Poets logo

Eclipsed by a Fantasy

The Persistence of Reputation

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 25 days ago 1 min read
13
Eclipsed by a Fantasy
Photo by Matt Nelson on Unsplash

Everything I have ever done, right and wrong,

Circles above me like a kettle of turkey vultures

Looking down upon me as I get by in my day-to-day

In my desperate attempt to survive under the weight of their memory

Persisting, forever in the shadow of who and what I once was

Still trying to live up to the image of me that you tightly hold

Eclipsed by a fantasy that I can never escape, a person I can never be

Acrostic
13

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred14 days ago

    Gotta agree with Caroline , some great lines

  • Caroline Jane17 days ago

    "A kettle of turkey vultures" my, that is excellent!

  • Heather Hubler17 days ago

    So very raw and relatable. I loved your take on the challenge, well done :)

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your Acrostic!

  • Suze Kay25 days ago

    I love the blend of celestial imagery and personal musing you produced here. It's such a great take on the acrostic challenge -- I'm loving the poems that take on a secondary definition, but I really love how you still held on to some of the "eclipse" imagery too!

  • Shirley Belk25 days ago

    sounds a lot like being a parent to adult children...lol Agree with Cathy & D.K.!

  • Cathy holmes25 days ago

    There a sadness to this one, but so well written.

  • D.K. Shepard25 days ago

    Sad and powerful! Great acrostic and challenge entry!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.