Poets logo

Eclipse

A poem of being the light and the dark

By Imani WaltonPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
4
Eclipse
Photo by Abed Ismail on Unsplash

I had a lover who saw the sun in me

He embraced my warmth and basked in my light

He saw brightness and beauty in me

He adored my ability to help others grow

He loved me for that

I had a lover who saw the moon in me

He understood my need for silence

He witnessed my need to be surrounded by stars

He admired my serenity

He loved me for that

I have not met a lover who sees that I am both

To see that exuberance is tiring

To see that isolation is refreshing

I am a coin they flipped and only saw one side

But I am a creation of sun and moon

Of light and dark

Of chaos and peace

Who will love me for that?

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Imani Walton

I used to write all the time and someway, somehow lost my way. Here’s me finding my passion again! I hope you enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    I love the way you describe yourself as a creation of sun and moon, of light and dark, of chaos and peace. It is a beautiful and powerful metaphor.

  • Arslan7 months ago

    excellent

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.