Poets logo

Eclipse Companion

A Solmates Exclusive Product

By kpPublished 19 days ago 1 min read
6
Eclipse Companion
Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

Inspired by Judey Kalchik's wonderful 60-second storytelling prompt. I'm late to the party, but I thought I'd post it just for fun :) I hope everyone had a happy eclipse! I tried to make a video to delight...perhaps I'll add it later when I feel less self-conscious.

Have you ever spent an eclipse alone? I haven’t. The meaning of the word is lonely enough. It translates to ‘an abandonment.’ I’ll be the first to admit that the absence of the sun is plenty to bum me out, but tack on isolation or heartbreak, and the eclipse can be a recipe for personal disaster.

These feelings of loneliness during an eclipse are inextricably linked to our evolving understanding of the phenomenon. Ancient Greeks believed an eclipse meant Helios was angry with them and punishing them for their sins by leaving, thus blotting out his light. We have come a long way from believing gods or goddesses are pulling these celestial bodies in any way, but the primal fear of being left–of being alone, persists.

That’s why we at Solmates came up with Eclipse Companions! Never again will you have to endure an eclipse by yourself! People have been paying for friends for years, but as time passes, the pressure to maintain that connection becomes as burdensome as an organic friendship. Nobody wants that! We offer one-day-only engagements with absolutely no strings attached. Our unique pairing system matches you with your ideal companion for your chosen event.

For the astronomically low rate of $1000/eclipse, you can have a Solmates original Eclipse Companion.

Good luck with the pairing process, and happy viewing!

ProseMental HealthhumorFriendshipFor Funbuyers guide
6

About the Creator

kp

I am a non-binary, trans-masc writer. I work to dismantle internalized structures of oppression, such as the gender binary, class, and race. My writing is personal but anecdotally points to a larger political picture of systemic injustice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 5 days ago

    Yowza, steep fee....I will watch with the bunnies and deer and listen as the birds go to bed at noon. Nice story, I loved it.

  • Lamar Wiggins8 days ago

    Ha! Clever stuff! And very well written!

  • Such effective storytelling!! Loved it! x

  • Judey Kalchik 19 days ago

    OOOOO! This is a wonderful idea! There's a new book out by a man that rents himself out for a living!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.