Poets logo

Eclecticism: A Poem

This is why I value being eclectic

By Serena Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Eclectic: ec·lec·tic/əˈklektik/. adjective. deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources.

Here is why I value being eclectic

Sticking to just one value would be quite hectic

Part of why I value this is because I am a skeptic,

If you just followed one rule your whole life things wouldn’t turn out as expected!

I like to let different things decide my action

I believe that my emotions play into it a fraction

Being eclectic means I balance all these things to create the right reaction

Being well rounded is what I aspire to be

I wouldn’t label myself one way or another because that excludes creativity

Choosing one way to live is too limiting for me

I am made up of many beliefs and values that I have collected

So reflecting upon some values I’ve selected,

With friends and family, I want to feel connected and go about my life in hopes to be respected

I also value philosophy, music, spirituality, and art

To always be in touch with my emotions and my heart

But if I feel that I am losing touch or beginning to fall apart…

Because I value eclecticism, I can always change, rearrange, and restart.

inspirationalart
Like

About the Creator

Serena

Hi! I am a ✦25-year-old digital nomad✦ Writing about Remote Work, Personal Development, and Productivity.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.