Poets logo

Eat The Frog First

A life lesson from my therapist.

By Violet RoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Eat The Frog First
Photo by Drew Brown on Unsplash

Years ago I was in therapy for anxiety and depression. I told my therapist I was having trouble completing everyday tasks. She told me something I willl always remember.

“You have to eat the frog first”

I thougt for sure I’d misheard her.

“If I served you your favorite meal, but you also had to eat a frog, you would eat the frog first.”

And she was right. Every day I look at the tasks I need to acomplish. I pick the hardest one (or the one I’m dreading the most) and I do it first.

The rest of the meal is more enjoyable, or the rest of the tasks are less daunting, after I’ve eaten the frog.

inspirational

About the Creator

Violet Ro

I enjoy writing about my own experiences and also enjoy experimenting with stepping out of my realm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Violet RoWritten by Violet Ro

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.