Poets logo

Easter Sunday (As Any Other Day)

Poem 16 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
2

I get to work in a kitchen for 8 hours

A day washing off dishes, equipment

And sometimes prep food on a full time

Basis with life and medical benefits.

{

Then I get to come home, sit here with

Drinks and shuffle through my mind

Looking for something significant to

Write.

I’ll either send a piece out to a

Magazine or add it to a collection

Such as this one.

If I’m out of booze I’ll walk up to

The liquor store for a new bottle.

If I’ve had enough booze I’ll stumble

Off to bed and try to sleep while

Distorted thoughts continue to pop

Up until eventually rest ensues.

{

Five days out of the week I’m on

The job banging out the china,

Pots, pans, trays and glasses.

I’ll cut calamari and make salads

Once the opportunity is given.

On break I take a notebook outside

Just in-case something can be

Written – though most of the time

I’m smoking cigarettes, tasting

Coffee or interacting with staff

Who’d like to speak or vent.

If I’m lucky the chance to jot

Down some content will open and

I’ll jump through the window

Earnestly.

Although my life insurance policy

Is what excites me most and I’d

Rather make it as a writer/poet

I stick with what is best.

Which is to work.

{

Once this mind is in front of

The typewriter I begin to separate

Things

{

Life,

Work,

Life,

Writing.

{

Life.

{

Ink as it happens

}

Filter to April 18, 2017

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    Your positivity is infectious, Keep forging ahead, inspiring others with your strength, setting a high standard for excellence, and aiming for the stars

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.