Poets logo

Eagle Eye

A small moment that changed everything.

By Michael James DimarcoPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Like

It wasn't the biggest moment of my life, but it was certainly one that had a big impact. I was walking home from work after a hard and tiring day, when I saw something in the sky above me - an eagle soaring through the air with its wings stretched wide and its head held high. It looked so majestic and powerful flying across the sky that I couldn't help but be mesmerized by it.

At first, all I could do was stand there in awe of this incredible sight before me. Then something happened inside me - a spark ignited and suddenly my feet were carrying me forward as if being pulled by some invisible force, towards this majestic bird. As I drew closer to where it flew, something else began to happen - every step felt lighter than before, like each footstep was taking me closer to a place filled with hope and possibility.

The eagle seemed to lead me down an unknown path and soon enough I found myself standing on top of a hill. I never thought I'd find myself here, overlooking the city below us.

We stood there together in silence, watching the warm orange haze from the sun shining over everything around us, while a gentle breeze rustled our feathers lightly. The view of the vast metropolis before us was so captivating that it almost seemed surreal; yet here we both were, feeling part of something much bigger than ourselves yet connected at the same time. It was as though this moment right here, right now, had been ordained by fate itself and I couldn't help but be filled with awe at such beauty surrounding me even despite all odds.

In that moment, nothing mattered more than just being alive and free under this vast orange sky surrounded by beauty everywhere you looked – even if only for a few fleeting seconds – that’s when things changed for me.

That's when it hit me – no matter how far apart we were going or what happened between us after this moment - nothing could ever break the bond we shared in those few moments

The eagle then turned towards me and gave out a loud screech - almost as if to say goodbye - before taking off into the sky again without looking back. Once more leaving me behind on that hilltop alone but content nonetheless.

In that brief encounter I had come to understand true freedom - being able to fly through life without any restraints or boundaries; just pure unbridled joy in each passing moment. From then onwards I tried my best everyday to emulate that same spirit within myself no matter how hard life got at times – never forgetting what it truly meant ‘to be free’ after meeting such a beautiful soul up there on top of that hill all those years ago.

My journey wasn't easy but I kept going because I believed that eventually everything would work out, if I just held on tight enough. And sure enough, after several years of hard work and dedication, I found myself standing right back where it all began, atop that same hill watching as another sun set beyond its horizon. The feeling of being fulfilled in every sense of the word, for having made such an incredible journey through life's struggles yet still managing to find peace within myself, despite any obstacles thrown my way.

As long as we remember our past experiences and learn from them each time, we can use this knowledge gained from those moments shared together - regardless whether they were happy or sad - to help guide us through whatever difficulties may come our way, during our own individual paths taken forward into tomorrow.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Michael James Dimarco

I have been writing for several years now. In that time, I've managed to help inspire those within the Film & Entertainment world. I have always been inspired by everyday emotions. Everything around me is a story, including my own life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.