Poets logo

Dying Swan

Dhmis poem

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
10

Am

I your dying swan?

Will you hold me like you hold out

The silent notes to sing me that

Solemn lullaby?

There are no spaces in between

You hold in your breath when we hold hands

I think I know why

It's because you know my breath is

Dying,

Don't you?

I dance to the dying tune,

Rue, Princess Tutu (The Dying Swan)

To prevent myself from slipping

Out of your warm arms.

I hold on to the fact that your

Gaze gives me new life

Even as my limbs atrophy,

Scars frozen,

You warm me up and I like how you look at me

Mytho & Princess Tutu

As though I'll never die

Because we are together,

No spaces in between our love.

surreal poetrylove poems
10

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    I dance to the dying tune. That line resonated with me. This was such a wonderful love poem Merly!

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Beautiful and melancholic! Well done on capturing a suspended state of love through your writing!

  • Sheila L. Chingwa10 months ago

    Beautiful work! I wish we could double heart articles!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Magnificent!!! With the perfect last line, it's a beautiful love poem!!! ❤️❤️💕

  • The unsurpassed beauty of those who hold true to such loving devotion. An inspiration to us all.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    Wonderful

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Beautiful as always, Melissa!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    I cannot choice which lines are my favorite, they all are great 🥰

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    I loved that last line so much!! Wow!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.