Poets logo

Dust - I Hear You Crying

Ravaged by Drought

By a.a.gallagherPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
NSW government investigates drought damage | Nine News Australia

I hear you crying

Your once proud mantle turned to

powdered dust.

Green to grey.

*

I hear you crying

as your roots dry out

bulbs, corms and rhizomes shrivel,

maxed out before their time.

*

I hear you crying

while the murmuring wind

crescendos to a wild screech,

and mighty trees bowl over

their huge root balls breached.

*

Upturned, dried and wizened.

their internal systems can

no longer sustain

their weight in a porous soil.

*

I hear you crying

when your soil begets grey dust.

As encrusted, elephantine skin

spreads,

a cancer on the land.

*

“encrusted, elephantine skin” UNSPLASH…redcharlie

Fissures and cracks appear like open sores.

Gaps in your spent terrain.

Giant footprints are marching,

marching, spreading , marching.

*

Again

I hear you cry

when animals driven by thirst,

then riveted by death,

people a relinquished landscape

their white bones arced,

stark in the rays of

a driven sun.

*

Unsplash. "white and brown animal skull on rock" Annie Spratt

I hear you crying

You’re hot I know.

You suffer an ever expanding, molten middle earth.

An illness waiting to erupt.

A temperature to fit.

No relief in sight.

*

I hear you crying, I do hear you crying.

But we are crying now as we

labour to restock our water sources.

Too late we hurry. But hurry we do.

Procrastination is killing our time.

*

Liquid lost…

Lights out.

a.a.hardy

copyright 2009

all rights reserved.

#Poetry #Drought #Climate Change #Writing #Creativity

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

a.a.gallagher

Thank you for reading my words and for following me. I am a collector of stories. I also write to try and explain life's happenings to myself. I write poems about the environment, climate change plus fun rhymes aimed at young kids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.