Poets logo

Drowning

Musings

By Steven ShakirPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

Drowning in your thoughts, a watery abyss in the mind,

A darkness inside the head, where you search yet cant find.

Dark and frightening thoughts pulling you into the chaos of the deep,

Where there is no rest, just an everlasting nightmare of fear in your sleep.

Searching for a lifeline or even just a rope to pull you up from the sea,

To break through the waves of anxiety, depression and self loathing, to be free.

From my boat I scour and search these crashing waves and this turbulent water,

For a glimpse of just even a shadow so as I may dive in an attempt to save her.

I am no hero, nor a lifeguard nor am I foolish enough to assume that I am,

Yet an overwhelming sense of responsibility fills me to reach out and offer my hand.

Surviving through the storm and searching from above on and on I continue to strive,

Until it strikes me that I am too far to hear or see and that I must take the dive.

Leaping through the air and piercing through these troubled waters I begin to swim,

Paying no mind to my own fears or insecurities as my surroundings become even more grim.

"I must be more strong, I must be her rock", my constant mantra repeated inside my head,

As I finally see you limp and un-moving on the floor of the ocean bed.

You are unresponsive and your body limp, the troubled waters created now your jail,

Your once strong and determined mind, soul in a coma and frail.

Trying to wake you from this silent slumber where your thoughts make you rust,

Screaming beneath the depths hoping you can hear my voice, one you can trust.

Filling my lungs with the darkness and unable to breathe, yet adamant you must hear my voice,

Telling you your worth, and how you are so much more, begging you to make the choice.

As I begin to drift and my eyes close looking at you, losing my will to fight,

A bubble of hope and self love escapes from your lips as you fill my sight.

Those dark, cold, watery depths begin to lower and your aura begins to glow,

As the heat emanating from you heals me and pulls me with you in tow.

Breaking through the surface and finally being able to breathe we stand in a puddle,

The once untameable ocean now evaporated and in my arms you lie, deserving a cuddle.

No longer drowning and free from all inhibition and fear,

The only reminder of this endless struggle trickles down your cheek as a single tear.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Steven Shakir

Law Student

Poet

Songwriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.