Poets logo

Drowning Pool

Reflections

By Cole PaulsenPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
2
  • Question I ask myself am I in the lane?
  • I mean I try really really hard to utilize my brain
  • I mean as much as possible without going insane
  • Comprehension tho for me still can walk with a cane
  • Still standing up though on my own 2 feet
  • Its been rough for a while tho my knees they creak
  • the miles Ive walked man only if they could speak
  • I wonder if they would tell me ive already peaked
  • The long walk folks that has been my life
  • Thus far So much self infliction and strife
  • On top of that along the way I casually created a life
  • A beautiful innocent who has not seen much nice.
  • These days there are very few out there who I hold close in the know
  • People with there own problems were all scooping the snow
  • With broken backs wondering what directions to go
  • With diffent speeds craving leads to discover the flow
  • I feel many things im a yoyo you see
  • bouncing back and forth between dilemas that may make me succeed
  • trying to consiously eliminate vices & personal greed
  • alot of easy road or casual trashing some of my needs
  • In my head I get it. an Idea I know what is right
  • Still ive chosen many times to fight the easier fight
  • some call it laziness i might call it a lack of Zest for life
  • worst part is I feel often i dont heed my own advice
  • I know i can be all over the place
  • no excuse in many ways a utter disgrace
  • tornados destroy they dont fix up the place
  • damn do I even deserve to be in this race?
  • aftermath feels like drowning in an acid bath
  • years of hindering decisions i know have surely dropped my class
  • Half Full Half Empty Ive lived a grip right in the past
  • drank the glass grabing cash and still landed my ass
  • I feel weak not only phisically but mentally
  • Battling the thought in reality life isnt friends with me
  • Not always easy life but this block aint just a phase u see
  • when I let live rent free inside my heart and my psyche
  • Alot dont care for me I know this is true
  • Ive burned alot of bridges probably more then you, you, or you
  • tragic ends to some love interests that prematurally grew
  • have said goodbye to some children i loved and I hope that they knew
  • so much time wasted aware and not willing to embrace it
  • maybe change a little bit be a man and fucking face it
  • I been so close many times I can still very faintly taste it
  • Always talk a big game underneath often BASIC
  • I dont need lasik I need to open my eyes
  • Appreciate what I have, build and be willing to cry
  • Look up not down repel the clown first the one thats inside
  • realize no guarentee that tomorrow could be a lie
  • I have a Daughter that is very easy to love
  • The pure innocence amazes and omg what a sponge
  • flip side she has soaked up some grunge
  • 2 rents on the cliff of chatty cathie have plunged
  • Back and forth like a couple of kids destined to fail
  • for so long petty shit we'd never quit of course ive landed in jail
  • calling anyone I know to come save my ass and post bail
  • Holeheartedly knowing people are sick and tired watching me fail
  • I really do have some exceptional friends
  • a few I 100% know I will cherish and climb peaks to defend
  • if they start to break I try to mend and just let it bend
  • I have though noticed a common suspended negative trend
  • maybe its just me realizing people just change
  • never succeded in love maybe I dont know the game
  • feels like circling the drain which then enhances the pain
  • the cold shoulders have been boulders and sometimes unexplained

Request Feedbackslam poetrysad poetryMental HealthheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Gosh this was so intense, deep and emotional! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.