Poets logo

Drowning

Poetry

By Amanda PetritisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Came into this knowing I didn’t want shit

New places

New faces

New cliques

New ways to say things

And new ways to play the same old games

Wanted to stay to myself

Wanted to make sure no one knew how I felt

Always been that golden soul

That knew how to brighten up even the darkest walls

Healed people even when I felt drained

Coming here I knew I didn’t want anymore of all that old pain

Start new is what I wanted to do

Focus on myself and then I met you

Tried to leave it alone

Pretend I saw nothing

Man all of that was just a little doubt

That I put in my head

To help me understand that I was different now

You could’ve just left me alone

You could’ve

But you knew what you were doing

You knew exactly what to say and how to maneuver

With every conversation you just kept pulling me even further

Every talk

Every touch

Every stare

The way you would even move my little hairs out of my face

Even when you would come over my place

You knew

Tried to get up

Tried to stop myself from drowning in the deep end

My stupid ass knew I couldn’t fucking swim

And just when I thought I saw sun

I thought my hand could reach out and grab the life preserver

You grabbed on to me and pulled me further

Air filling up into my lungs

Bubbles coming out of my mouth

Tears filling up my eyes

You know how much I love you

How I don’t want to say goodbye

But it’s too late now

It’s too late to save my own life

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.