Poets logo

Dropped Off at the Bar

He chooses to chase her

By Erman BaradiPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Dropped Off at the Bar
Photo by Alexander Popov on Unsplash

She got dropped off at the bar

Trying to get uber faded

A few drinks to lift her up

This is how it starts

I could see in her mind that she's contemplating

Needed more sips than would fit in a Pixie cup

She's scared to do it

Mascara running faster than her heart

Something dark is brewing

Then our eyes locked

Caught on her radar, missile target locked

Walking over we're three stools apart

She got dropped off at the bar

But looking for someone to pick her up

I don't have the cleanest appearance

I'm not seeing the clearest

Two beers in my hand

My heart ain't the purest

I can assure this

But doing the best that I can

Sweat dripping nervous

She won't like who I am

Drops down in the seat next to me

Bodies reacting chemically

Glances over her text messages

Her brain is running endlessly

Is this the right messaging

From her heart to her memories

Now sipping on some beverages

But her conscious speaks of hesitance

Her eyes running rampant

From the bar to her watch to the crowd to my face

Her lips running rapid

As she says her name

Mixed in with nervous ramblings

Something's off about these circumstances

But I'll take a chance and see if this flight has some type of landing

How am I her type? I'm just a plain guy but I'll wing it

A few drinks and we're kickin' it

Laughing at my jokes but I'm barely saying anything

Hours passing and she smiles at about everything

Round for round, shot for shot

Tonight, I'm definitely getting it

But something is different and she knows that I am sensing it

Then I see her screensaver

She needed someone to save her

A man who looked like me

She said their love was faded

Closed my tab, tried to walk away

Pulled me by the jacket

Begging me to stay

"I don't want the drama, this isn't my place"

But she wouldn't have it

Kept trying to grab me

Blue in her heart, red in the face

"Please sit down, hear me out, just try to listen

This isn't what you think it is

We've been on the outs without speculation

We're only together on paper

Still haven't signed the papers

Only mom and dad know

A few friends and the neighbors

Hate to say it but we're victims of circumstances

He stays late at the office

Frustrations turn into arguments

Date nights turn into fight nights

Meanwhile, I'm jobless

Two cars, no kids, one beautiful home in the suburbs

Push each other away from romances

Too much hurt and we acknowledge it

Do we stand a chance? I'm forever the optimist

But two polar opposites, monogamous, hard to hold onto our promises"

I sat down, heard her out, and listened

Now envisioning him in his recliner

A mix of 100 proof and hard ciders

Thinking of her alibis out late to night

Wishing she was beside him

But she'll think up some excuse

Why she didn't invite him

Here I am staring at this goddess

Every part of me wants it if I'm being honest

Take a step and reflect, keeping myself in check

Would this be worth cashing it in yet?

Everybody has their inner demons, living breathing

In between the seasons from love to grieving

Steals away your breathing, respirators on repeat

And from the suffocating you learn to see the healing

Quick to give up when suffering

Don't feel like you're enough again

The load is stuck on buffering

Waiting for something to feel the rush again

You came tonight searching for someone to take the numb away

No escape plan, just a detour from a hurtful place

I pray you think it over when your mind is parked on sober

Your heart is broken and you're accelerating towards closure

I hope that he reconsiders

I pray he pours his soul into her more than he does the liquor

He chooses to chase her instead of down the bitters

She sees that the flame has flickered

Keep the memories but it fades like embers

Too much of a history to not remember

But he's acting colder than December

If this relationship can survive some icebergs

Go home to him now, you'll get a little wiser

Looked her in the eyes and told her love is a prize

And be a prizefighter

Round for round, shot for shot

The win won't be tonight

But in due time it's worth the fight

She ran from the bar

To get to where the Uber waited

After a few words to to lift her up

This is how it ends

Options have all been weighted

As I sit and expect the next to pull right up

love poems
1

About the Creator

Erman Baradi

"To be human is a lesson you'll learn at the very end."

@ermanbaradi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.