Poets logo

Drive and Trust

A poem about lost love

By Abigail SulfridgePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

When I came home that fateful day

I saw what I feared most

A missing car from our lot

And missing stuff from our home

He was gone

He was gone

I cried for hours to come

I cried for lost love

I cried for lost time

I cried for the days

That would never greet me

I wanted answers

But would not get any

But his phone remains turned off

Blocking my tries to reach him

I need him

I want him

I have to keep him

It seems toxic

I know

But love is love

No matter how messed up

He’s just lost

He just needs guidance

He just needs assurance

That our love

That our time together

Was not in vain

I have to save him

I have to find him

If drive I must

To the location he hinted to

Then drive I must

No luck

One duck stuck

Stuck in the muck

Down in her scary scary feels

No one loves me

No one loves me

That’s what my life shows

I’m not worthy of staying for

I’m not worthy of living for

But as I opened the door

He was standing there

Tears streaking down his face

I came home

He said

I realized something today

I’m lost without you

I can’t live without you

I won’t even try

I thought I was protecting you

But I was only hurting you

And I know that now

But trust comes harshly

And trust comes rarely

He’s home in my arms

But my heart still beats quickly

Will I trust him

Maybe

Or maybe not

We’ll see

But for now

I’ll sleep in his arms

Where we both belong

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Abigail Sulfridge

I am from Boise, Idaho. I am a Medtech and am going to college to be a teacher. Writing and acting have always been passions of mine and I'm glad I get to pursue them here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.