Poets logo

Drinking.

To Distraction.

By Dawn EarnshawPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

D rinking a nightcap just got me through, at least it numbed the pain we was going through.

I nvested my life looking forward to seeing it through rose coloured specticles, life on the beach with children running around our feet.

S ipping a bottle and then it became two, the room became hazier than the alphabet zoo.

T rained highly in disguise for the lecture to come through, of what this bottle of alcohol in front of me would do.

I n full ignorance to life before me the new wine glass became the height of my high class.

O bsessed with the stocks and shares, I forgot how much we enjoyed the loving stares, I only remember that last one before I fell and never woke up from the bottom of the stairs.

N ot knowing that the sky was blue and the stars were bright on a night, we were never to have that “high life” just wished I had made that one bottle a juice, would have loved to have watched the up growing of the kids, with our hopes , wishes aspirations come true; let that be a lesson on the drinking of a nightcap or two.

CONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Dawn Earnshaw

Loves writing short stories and poems - learning punctuation and Grammar.ADHD

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.