Poets logo

Drink (jan.13.08)

Poem...

By Nathan CharlesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You drink

I drink

We all drink

The fluid of life into our veins

Sometimes just as refreshing as candy canes

Other times just as animal as primal things

Soft, hard, fast, slow, lather it up

I’m going to make a cup

Bout time these volcanoes erupt

Now slow again, let me catch this sail

Sharp as an orange flower yet with a beautiful smell

You drank

I drank

We all drank

The rain that falls upwards

The schools of fish gather in herds

Swimming with the current as it bursts

So violent and sweet at the same time

I hear a sigh with a whispered curse

Nothing in the world is better or worse

Tongue and lips give away your thirst

This thing always feels like a first

You drink

I drank

We all wipe our lips

After the fire burns from my eyes

Passion thrashed with fairy wings

The fluid of life into our veins

Sometimes just as refreshing as candy canes

Other times just as animal as primal things

Sweat slowly slides down my brow

I think that it’s your turn now

You drank, now I drink, and we will both

Lick our lips

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Nathan Charles

Enjoy writing sci fi, fantasy, lgbtq fiction, poetry, and memoirs!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.