Poets logo

Drifting, Floating

A metaphor of life

By Celeste BarbierPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Drifting, Floating

Swimming, Flowing

Sinking, Drowning

Drifting, Floating

Life is simple; effortless

My body naturally buoyant

I am a lazy jellyfish

My limbs long & delicate

I gently waft with the current.

Swimming, Flowing

Life imposes trajectory

My body strong & adept

I am a porpoise with purpose

My wake ripples outwardly

I find my stride among the swells

Sinking, Drowning

Life becomes overwhelming

My body ravaged by time

I am one with all dying creatures

My arms limp, body decrepit

Water permeates what is left of me.

Drifting, Floating

Consciousness without conclusion.

I am nowhere & everywhere

I am one with the seven seas

I thrive as such in perpetuity

Drifting, Floating for eternity.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Celeste Barbier

I am a full time professional solo vocal performer & poet,/songwriter residing in Oceanside, California at the beach where I live with my wife of 16 years, Rene, a brilliant artist & healer & our parrot named Oiseau. Life is Amazing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.