Poets logo

Dreams are of these

Euphoria

By DonJuan Carter-WoodardPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Dreams

Are like ripe mango slices

On a chipped indigo plate

You notice everything

Juices dripping through the visions in my mind

Central nervous system firing off euphoria

Senses jovial although my body assumes the pose of a statue

Solar power igniting my path

But lunar energy carries me amongst the stars

Nothing is impossible here

The cow that jumped over the moon raced along the Milky Way

In peace is not a word of profanity

Stealing dust from the shooting stars

In an attempt to fly in the afterlife

Where spiritual currency also takes EBT

The music here sounds familiar

Although these words don’t make sense

Using the tail feather of a flaming phoenix

Dipping the tip into golden Ink

To write a masterpiece on papyrus

Fresh spring water and morning dew quench our thirst

Staring into lips the same color is pomegranate juice

Watching as these lips tell me

It’s time to wake up

Hibernation is for bears

But Lions wake at dawn

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

DonJuan Carter-Woodard

I am a poet. I am a realist. I am the bullhorn in your ear as you sleep urging you to stay woke

Realizes the collective will to change often needs a catalyst to set the wheels of social & cultural evolution in motion.

These are my thoughts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.