Poets logo

Dreams are Not Dead

Life as observed in a school cafeteria

By Jay CorderoPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Dreadful sounds

Drowned the air.

Demon-like creatures arrived at their

Destination.

Deprived,

Depressed, and

Desperate.

Detached from their day-to-day.

Devoid of meaningful connections.

Dying to be

Different, indifferent to the

Dire state of the world.

Desires of love

Desires of lust

Desires of someone, a

Dominant parental figure who can

Devour their feelings of anxiety. They are

Dependent on their love and guidance.

Don’t you see, my

Darlings?

Destiny calls you, while your

Dignity is at risk, chasing a

Diploma

Designed to make you slaves.

Diminishing returns of your efforts

Demonstrate that your chains

Drag you towards a system

Disinterested in your soul and eager to

Disarm you, and strip you of your hopes

Disinterested you wake up

Disillusionment overwhelms you. And I

Don’t blame you.

Dead were the

Dreams of a better world.

Defeat of the

Dishonest will come if you rise up

Disembody the system we will!

Destroy their power we will!

For in unity we have strength.

Don’t give up,

Dreams are not

dead.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jay Cordero

Hello!

Ever since I was little I loved stories; they made me feel connected to something bigger than myself. This is why I am working towards becoming a writer. I want to be able to replicate the bliss I feel when reading for my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.