Poets logo

Dream to be Wild

Spoken word poetry

By MentalmattersPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dream to be Wild
Photo by Prince David on Unsplash

The beauty in the pain is the reason my love stains

And I didn't cause the rain, but I've been drowning in this shame

Still counting down the days

Trying to navigate through this maze

To find the ways

I couldn't say

I wished you’d stay

Because I love you

But

Would that have been enough for you?

Or would I play the fool

Crossing the lines you drew

To feel the break through of a heart torn in two

Just a different kind of cruel

Here.

Take this fuel

Light the flame

Who’s to blame for the unrequited shame of a love that you're not allowed to name

But still you pray that they feel the same

All while trying to find new ways to tame the feeling of them burning under your skin

Like maybe you've found a new home from within

A love that wouldn't dare to dim

Only bringing new reasons to grin

A smile the world hasn't seen for a while

Because the world crushes spirits far before you've grown from a child

I still dream to be wild

To hold hope in my heart and have it carry me back to a restart

I'll let that be my work of art

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Mentalmatters

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.