Poets logo

Dr. Suess Like

I do not like cancer here or there, I do not like cancer anywhere!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Dr. Suess Like
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I do not like cancer for any children,

I do not like cancer for any grandchildren,

I do not like cancer in me,

or in you, you see!

A young boy wrote to the president that he did abhor

Cancer! It said, "Spend money on cancer not on war"

you will make a dent,

and I will not vent,

Children will grow up, not suffer, as we are not meant!

****

Cancer kills, like war.

My sister died from leukemia, oh me

at fifty-three.

My sister-friend died of leukemia, you see

She was a few years older, around sixty-three.

My grandmother died of widespread cancer

when I was just a young girl, close to three.

****

No, I do not like cancer, not at all!

I have a group of friends fighting cancer,

I met them at a LiveStrong program, we had a ball!

It is for people that have or have had cancer.

One friend died and she was a doll.

****

I had cancer

and prefer to think of it in this way when able.

I had cancer

My doctor said, “…it is treatable probably not curable”

No, I do not like cancer!

Cancer, cancer everywhere

****

No, I do not like cancer anywhere!

Lung, thyroid, pancreatic, and lymphoma

some of the cancers I am aware of, oh mama.

We do what we can when we can

herbal supplements for immunity help man,

plants to take the toxins out of the air,

organic food, limiting fast food and packaged fair

****

We exercise and get enough sleep,

try not to have too much stress seep

into our life,

no more strife!

Laugh and cry more!

These tips will help us for

today and every day!

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.