Poets logo

Downstairs, I Think

An Ekphrastic Sonnet

By D. J. ReddallPublished 17 days ago 1 min read
3
Louis le Brocquy, "Girl in Grey," 1939

It is obvious: I have failed again

I sought in vain to choose these words for you

Each one a soft, cool kiss for your sad brain

A set of symbols familiar and new

But the wrinkles of your grey dress are clear

They form a bleak map of disappointment

Compounded by the fact that you rushed here

One slipper, without leave, strangely absent

Perhaps it waits, confused, on yonder stair

As into air, abstractedly, you glare

For this small, private, readerly lair

Instead of consolation, yields despair

Please know that, for so long as I can write

I’ll strive to quench grey yearning with delight

Ekphrastic
3

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran16 days ago

    "Each one a soft, cool kiss for your sad brain" That was my favourite part! Loved your poem!

  • Rachel Deeming17 days ago

    D.J., I love this. It captures a story of a moment depicted in the picture so brilliantly. I loved the voice you created. Deftly done.

  • Hannah Moore17 days ago

    I can't see the picture any other way now.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.