Poets logo

Downhearted Darling:

In collaboration with Zi Zoe

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Downhearted Darling:
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Downhearted darling

Zulema plant me

A damaging response

of mint

orange slices force a smile

I wish

I could kill all the kindness

of my heart;

Just easily as I can

murder a houseplant!

Cold passion;

Who is mine, but you?

Downhearted darling

Zulema

In your absence,

the smile will disappear,

vanish!

Almost always absent

of water comatose

My beloved

if my heart complains-

Whoever I vent to,

take care

How many more tears,

can be shed

before you drowned?

Downhearted darling

In your eyes, watering

in delight, from thirst

Zulema

In your presence,

there’s no trace of a tear

provocation tears at me,

all things that make me feel,

as if I am breathing ...

Aromatic longing;

Salty aftertaste ...

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.