Poets logo

Down In The Valley

Coal mines

By marie381uk Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Down in the valley beneath the mist

An angry minor clenched his fist

Dam you, dam you, dam you he cried

He told his friend how his two sons had died

They both got up this morning full of joy

By noon the man was told he has lost his two boys

One just 17 the other 23

He cries I shall see you no more, how can this be

Four others as well got killed two got hurt really bad

He identified the boys with one’s belt, and the others shirt

He told how when the explosion came, he was in his bed

He was awoken by sirens and people gathering at pithead

Fear growing strongly felt sick inside

He put his head on his hands and he cried and cried

He repeated again, he was a sleep in his bed

Someone knocked on his door crying there’s been an explosion

It’s feared lots and lots of dead

He stood there the news spinning in his head

Oh why oh why oh why he cried in vain

Wired my boys gone yet and I remain

His friend so sad and made no reply

Ge wiped the rolling tears from his eyes

The old man told he should’ve been down the bit that day

But he had a bad stomach and it kept him away

Now this old man is due to retire next year

He hates the pit that he once loved so dear

His wife died long ago and now his boys are gone too

What future he has left His whole worlds ruined too

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

marie381uk

My Name is Marie, I write mainly poetry

I write subjects that I lean towards. No poetry by me, is related to me in any way unless I state it is. I have loved poetry from being 14 years old. Life is a poem grab a pen a tell your story xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.