Poets logo

Dorothy II

And the fairy tale continues

By Vadim KaganPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Dorothy II
Photo by James Lee on Unsplash

I know you've never fit with the majority,

I got no wish of adding to your strife,

But please don't look behind the curtain, Dorothy,

Because you need some magic in your life.

You need talking dogs,

You need scarecrows,

You need tin woodmen,

You need lions, too.

I know you've never bowed to authority,

I heard of things you've never been good at,

But please don't look behind the curtain, Dorothy,

Because there is no magic after that.

No more talking dogs,

No more scarecrows,

No more tin woodmen,

No lions, too.

I know that it may be your top priority

I see that you are in a rotten mood,

But please don't look behind the curtain, Dorothy,

Because when magic's gone it's gone for good.

Gone are talking dogs,

Gone are scarecrows,

Gone are tin woodmen,

Gone are lions, too.

There is no magic on the other side

And there for sure is no place like home.

Let curtains hide all that they need to hide -

All roads to Kansas lead, in fact, to Rome.

inspirationalsocial commentary
4

About the Creator

Vadim Kagan

I believe that each day is a blessing, every story is amazing and all poems should rhyme!

Instagram: @whines_and_rhymes

Facebook: www.facebook.com/vadimkagan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Lea Springerabout a year ago

    Love it! Is there a Fairy Tale or Children's Fantasy or Folktale section in vocal? If not, there should be! That's my favorite genre! If rhyming couplets interest you, I tried my best for the Wall challenge, "A Tale of 4 Walls."

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Oh my! How incredibly creative

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    most enlightening my friend, very well done 😀

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, I love this so much! I really love how you used the Wizard as Oz as inspiration for this. Your storytelling is magical, cautionary, and comforting in a way. I really enjoyed this :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.