Poets logo

Dormivegila

In a semi-conscious state

By River StyxPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Golden sunrise beams

Stream through the window.

Smoke, remnants of an earlier bowl,

Flow through the light

Like waves in a mini ocean.

I’m sound asleep under a fuzzy blanket

Accompanied by Pikachu and Snorlax.

She cracks the door

Trying to slip into bed.

The cats don’t acknowledge her

But my eyes flicker to the door.

“My wife!” fills the air

With a smile in her voice.

I can’t help but curl into her

Once she joins me in bed.

Sweet little kisses

And teasing nibbles

Forge a path across my shoulders

And up my neck.

Doing all I can to not wake up

Or to not go back to sleep

Because then this ends.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

River Styx

Queer, disabled, polyamorous, rural Mainer in their late 20’s. Their passion for writing began in 2002. River loves iced coffee, their cats, and the ocean.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.